Performance

Clare performs eclectic traditional and original music on the hammered dulcimer, jouhikko, and piano.  She is available for concerts, weddings, private parties, and other events.  For booking, contact Clare.

2018 Schedule

Sat. 10/20 10:30am – Finn Funn Weekend – solo presentation & performance (Troy, NH)

Thu. 6/28 7pm – Copper Country Contra Dance – with Dave Morehouse & Kevin Blackstone (Finnish American Heritage Center, Hancock, MI)

Sun. 6/24 1pm – jouhikko performance with the Ilon Kaiku Kantele Ensemble (Jacobsville Chapel, Jacobsville, MI)

Friday 6/22 & Saturday 6/23 – Juhannus – Jouhikko building workshop with Alice Margerum & music workshop with Clare Zuraw. Call (906) 487-7549 for more information and to register. (Finnish American Heritage Center, Hancock, MI & Agate Beach, Toivola, MI)

Sun. 1/28/18 2pm – performance with the Ilon Kaiku Kantele Ensemble (Zion Lutheran Church, Hancock, MI)

Sat. 1/27/18 2pm – Jouhikombo – performance, Heikinpäivä Tori (Finnish American Heritage Center, Hancock, MI)

Tue. 1/23/18 6pm – Jouhikombo @ Heikinpäivä – lecture and performance with Alice Margerum, Matthew Durocher, and Oren Tikkanen (Finnish American Heritage Center, Hancock, MI)

2017 Schedule

Tue. 12/12/17 6pm – Jouhikko Lecture & Demonstration – with Alice Margerum and Matthew Durocher (Portage Lake District Library, Houghton, MI)

Sat. 11/4/17 6-7:15pm 41 North Film Festival – with Kevin Blackstone (Houghton, MI)

Sat. 10/21/17 1:30-2:30pmKeweenaw Co-op Harvest Festival – solo hammered dulcimer (Hancock, MI)

Fri. 10/20/17 6-9pmCopper Country Community Arts Center 25th Anniversary Celebration – solo hammered dulcimer (Hancock, MI)

Sun. 10/8/17 2-4pm – Italian Hall Memorial Fundraiser – piano accompaniment for The 1913 Singers (Calumet, MI)

Sat. 9/23/17 6-7pm – Keweenaw National Historical Park – with Kevin Blackstone (Calumet, MI)

Sat. 9/2/17 11am-1pm – Lake Linden Farmer’s Market – solo hammered dulcimer (Lake Linden, MI)

Sat. 8/19/17 11am-1pm – Tunes at the Tori – with Kevin Blackstone (Hancock Tori, Quincy Green, Hancock, MI)

Fri. 7/7/17 12-1pm – Music on the Menu – solo hammered dulcimer (Portage Lake District Library, Houghton, MI)

Thu. 4/27/17 7pm – Music at the Museum: Songs of the Copper Country – hammered dulcimer with Oren Tikkanen [guitar, mandolin, vocals], Alice Margerum [vocals, mandolin], and Kevin Blackstone [guitar, banjo, vocals] (Carnegie Museum, Houghton, MI)

Sat. 4/8/17 6:30pmNight of Hope Relay for Life – solo hammered dulcimer (Rozsa Center at Michigan Technological University, Houghton, MI)

Sat. 2/18/17 7pm – Zik’s Apres Ski – hammered dulcimer with Kevin Blackstone (The Pines Resort, Copper Harbor, MI)

Wed. 2/1/17 6:30pm – Jouhikko: Forgotten Finnish Folk Fiddle? lecture by Alice Margerum on the history of the jouhikko (Calumet Public Library, Calumet, MI)

Sun. 1/29/17 2pm – Heikinpäivä Hymn Sing & Concert – jouhikko with The Ilon Kaiku Kantele Ensemble (Zion Lutheran Church, Hancock, MI)